NASCAR Welcomes Five New Members To Hall of Fame

by Chevrolet in the News on December 14, 2010

Nascar image

The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) recently tallied the results of voting for its 2011 Hall of Fame class, and the organization has announced that five more legendary competitors will be enshrined during the official induction ceremony in May of 2011.

Achieving this honor will be:

David Pearson: Known in NASCAR circles as “The Silver Fox”—for both the color of his hair and his wily ways on the racetrack—Pearson started competing in NASCAR’s Grand National Series in 1960 and made an immediate impact on the sport, being named Rookie of the Year. He went on to take home national championships in 1966, 1968 and 1969, while his 105 total victories remains the second-most ever recorded by a driver in NASCAR’s top-echelon racing series.

Bobby Allision: A key member of the famed “Alabama Gang,” Allison notched 84 NASCAR cup wins, third among all drivers, and one national championship, in 1983. Perhaps best remembered for his part in the classic 1979 Daytona 500, which ended with an infield brawl, Allison won the storied event three times (in 1978, 1982 and 1988) before an accident in ‘88 ended his racing career.

Lee Petty: Much more than just “Richard’s father,” Lee Petty was a powerful force in NASCAR’s early days. Even though he didn’t start racing until he was 35, Petty won 54 races on NASCAR’s biggest stage, including the very first Daytona 500, held in 1959. He also became the first driver to win three national championships in NASCAR’s premiere racing series. Lee Petty passed away on April 5, 2000.

Ned Jarrett: Jarrett captured 50 victories in his 13 years of NASCAR cup driving, with an amazing 28 wins coming in a two-year span (1964-1965) that culminated with his second championship. Oddly enough, he won only 1 race on his way to earning his first title, in 1961, when he made up for the lack of wins with 34 top-10 finishes in 46 starts. Jarrett went on to become an acclaimed NASCAR broadcaster after his driving days were over.

Bud Moore: NASCAR honored Moore for his efforts as a team owner who found both immediate and long-term success in his 40 years of racing involvement. Moore fielded his first NASCAR team in 1961, won back-to-back cup titles in 1962 and 1963, then went on to support 63 more winners before retiring in 2000. He was also the crew chief during Buck Baker’s 1957 championship season.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame is located in Charlotte, N.C.; for more information, visit

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: